Kabbalah Glossary: S to Z


Sefer Tenuzia
The book of Modesty. A part of the Zohar. Modesty in Judaism as well as in the Kabbalah is not only in regards to dress, but also in conducting one's day to day affairs.
Safer Yitzira
The Book of Formation / of Creation. One of the first and most important books of the Kabbalah. Attributed to Rabbi Akiva in the 1st Century C.E.
The Devine Life Force also known as the Tree of Life. The Sephira is one of the most important aspects of the Kabbalah. It is divided into 10 Sephirot, noted here as per their order: Keter (Crown), Chochmah (Wisdom), Binah (Understanding), Daat (Knowledge), Chesed (Loving Kindness), Givurah (Strength), Tiferet (Beauty), Nitzach (Victory), Hod (Splendor), Yesod (Foundation), Malchut (Kingdom).
Day of Rest. Judaism's holiest day. As G-d rested after creating the Universe, Shabbat is a day for study and prayer. No physical work is to be done. Also known as Sabbath.
First and last prayer recited daily. Affirms the importance of G-d as Lord over all.
Shulchan Aruch
Code of Jewish Law. Written by Rabbi Yosef Karo in the 15th Century.
Ram horns blown during High Holy Days. It was also blown during battle, and to warn people of impending danger. "Hear the clarion call of the Shofar!".


Pleasure. A high spiritual state espousing love of the Almighty. Not to be confused with the word Ta'Avah, which means lust, or passion.
Ritual Purity. Involves preparation for entering places that are not ritually pure or be touched by things not considered pure. Also in respect to entering the Mikveh.
Learning. The Talmud, composed of the Mishnah (Repetition) and Gamarrah (Completion) is perhaps the most import text in Jewish learning after the Torah. Much of what is taught in the Kabbalah is based on what is written in the Talmud.
The Bible. The Tanach is the complete 24 volume work which includes the Torah (Five Books of Moses) Neviim (Writings of the Prophets, Book of Kings, etc.), and Ketuvim (Writings, such as Book of Psalms, Ecclesiastics, and Lamentations).
Returning. Often referred to those who are "Baali Teshuvah" (Returnees to the Faith). There is both a lower Teshuvah, meaning doing holy deeds, and a higher Teshuvah, meaning having an intense love and passion for the faith and for learning.
State of perfection or order. Also a state of retrieving fragments of the Devine Light trapped in material realm to restore to world to perfection.
Five Books of Moses and first part of the Tanach. The Books consist of Breishit (Genesis), Shemot (Exodus), Vayikra (Leviticus), Ba?midbar (Numbers), and Devarim (Deuteronomy). All Kabbalah teachings, including the Zohar, are based on the teachings of the Torah, the most holy of G-d's teachings.
A righteous person. Often referred to as one who values study over all.


Binah in Hebrew. Third important aspect of the 10 Sephirot.
?Or Chozer? in Hebrew. Light which goes out from the simple or coarse to the refined.
Vav Hahipuch
The Biblical version of the Hebrew letter Vav to change it to a past tense.
Netzach in Hebrew. Seventh of the ten Sephirot and the fourth aspect of Creation.


Mentioned in the Zohar as "upper and lower waters" that would "burst forth" to bring wisdom and knowledge at the coming of the Mashiach (Messiah).
Hb. Ratzon. Used to indicate the spiritual state on one of the three heads of the Keter.
Chochmah in Hebrew. Second of the ten Sephirot, and said to be the first power of intellect in Creation.
Matching Amulet on Red String


Name given to Jacob when he first entered Canaan after being away in Mesopotamia. The name is supposed to have been an acronym for the name of G-d. The Y stood for Yechud (Blessing), the B for Bracha (Blessing) and the K for Kedushah (Holiness).
Singular One. Highest level of the soul that will only become known when the Mashiach (Messiah) will arrive.
Yemot ha-Mashiach
Days of the Messiah, or Messianic Era. In the Messianic Era everyone will live in peace, i.e. the lion will lay down with the lamb.
Yerikat ha-Klipot
Ridding the world of evil by allowing a new light to shine on the souls. The light, from Above, shines on our souls to give us strength. When the body leaves, so does the light.
Foundation. The ninth of the ten Sephirot.
Fear. It is a spiritual state, connected with the Sephira of Givurah (Strength).


7th letter in the Hebrew alphabet and possessor of numerous physical connotations.
Zeir Anpin
The Small Face. It is the face or "Partzuf" that corresponds to the image of the soul.
Hb. Tzion. Name for ?Eretz Yisrael? or Israel. Zion is often mentioned in Jewish prayer and is also an important aspect of Kabbalistic thought.
Splendor. The book (Book of Splendor) which forms the basis of the Kabbalah. The Zohar, written by Rabbi Shimon Bar Yochai, is divided into three works: the Zohar, Tikunei Zohar (the Amended Zohar), and the Zohar Hadash (the New Zohar). Many Kabbalah scholars refer to the Zohar as a mystical discussion of the nature of G-d, the origin and structure of the universe, the nature of souls, redemption, good and evil, and numerous other topics.

Return to the start of the Kabbalah Glossary